The President’s Award 2021

Share this!

The President’s Award was set up in 1999 and is given to members of the profession who have, in the opinion of the President, made a particular and special contribution to the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries.

During my presidential year, there were heighted volunteering in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and an increased focus on thought leadership. My awards reflected these two factors.

Five awards were devoted to the IFoA’s and the profession’s admirable response to the COVID-19 pandemic

  • Covid-19 Actuaries Response Group
  • Stuart McDonald
  • Matthew Edwards
  • Nicola Oliver
  • Colin Dutkiewicz


Six awards were devoted to recognise efforts in leading, reviving and supporting the IFoA’s and profession’s thought leadership capabilities

  • Actuaries for Transformational Change
  • Andrew Smith
  • Charles Cowling
  • Sam Accord
  • Nicol Aspinall
  • Patrick Poon


Two awards were marked appreciation of a more personal nature  

  • Jo Jones, a member of staff of the IFoA and
  • Gillian Stamp – my sounding board for many years


From next week onwards, I will be blogging on each awardee – the background of the group or the persons involved, and some questions which I will put to them.